Best Ways to Achieve Your Goals?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
Austin Lindgren on May 5, 2012 at 12:16 am

Hey guys,
The new site! Woo!

Anyways, so I’m an aspiring filmmaker. Among my influences are mostly just youtubers, Jake Sidwell, Olan Rogers, Shawna Housen, etc. and I’ve just been fascinated with the idea of amazing someone. Popular culture is built to think that the great is only achieved by the great, and that rising to become great is impossible; however, I’d like to challenge that.

Unfortunately, the big challenge is a financial one. Figuring out how to get the money to facilitate commerce of a nice camera can be a tricky task, but that’s the point of this thread. How might one financially be able to gain an upper hand advantage and be able to find a quicker way to be able to produce at least decent films?

This is really meant to not only help myself, but also to anyone who reads this, so any contribution to the discussion is appreciated. Take it easy, and have a good one.
Austin

O'Ryan McEntire on May 5, 2012 at 1:27 am

Hey Austin,
Welcome to Filmpunch!

Funding is always a challenge, and you are definitely not the only one.
I personally work a full time job that is unrelated to filmmaking just to fund my filmmaking.

I think the danger that youtube creates for our generation is that because a select few have been successful with youtube it creates this false idea that one can just start posting online and become famous instantly. While it can happen usually that type of fame doesn’t last.

I know that for most successful youtubers, getting to where they are now was a ton of work and dedication. Many times sacrificing everything just to get where they are now.

And even with all that work it still takes years and years before you really start seeing the fruit of that labor.

I would argue that the only quick and easy ways to fame all end in shame and/or jail time.