Production Diary: My First Greenscreen Project

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
Alex Coulombe on January 30, 2014 at 1:33 pm

… actually it’s really my first real film, period.

A little background: I’m a 26 year old architect whose never felt content doing just architecture. I design boardgames, create music, write plays, and very recently, have started to dive into video editing. I love editing– I don’t have a great eye for composition, but I do have a sense of pacing, so it was very natural for me to start off making mashups of pre-existing content. Some of my recent work has been featured on Slacktory and can be viewed here:
http://alturl.com/w63d4

On Monday I was given the opportunity to turn one of my short plays about The Sims (http://alturl.com/uubmo) into a film on a very tight budget. I started by securing the two actors from the original play with a SAG New Media contract, used two $100 Panasonic Handycams, and with the help of the head of Slacktory, was able to find a large apartment to shoot in, complete with greenscreens and nice audio equipment (audio is always the quickest way I’m able to tell if something is professional or not). The only real problem was lighting, but more on that later. We filmed everything in 4 hours and it was loads of fun.