Training Your Friends Into Actors

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
Lane Carter on May 22, 2012 at 12:57 pm

I’m a 15-year-old filmmaker. When making my movies, I mostly rely on my friends to act, and really only two of them are good actors. I am currently working on a drama short film. How do I train my friends how to act for a drama? I know acting is a skill that takes practice, but any tips that would help them seem more real would be greatly appreciated.

Jared Charles Choate on May 27, 2012 at 7:15 pm

Make new friends who can act better. It sounds really mean, but that’s all I got. With that age, you have to be just kind of born with the ability to act. But other than that, just try your best to have them act how you would and really give examples of what you expect from them.

Lane Carter on May 28, 2012 at 12:50 am

Thanks for the advice. I realized after I posted this that there isn’t much you can do in this situation. I don’t think I’ll make knew friends who can act since there’s very few who can where I’m from. I think I’ll just work with what I have. Thanks anyways.

Jared Charles Choate on May 28, 2012 at 11:33 am

I was mainly joking with the “make new friends” part :D Haha but yeah, other than that I really have no idea.

Lane Carter on May 28, 2012 at 3:31 pm

Oh okay. Well like I said, thanks anyways.

Jared Charles Choate on May 28, 2012 at 9:27 pm

Anytime

Will Jenkins on June 5, 2012 at 1:26 am

Just getting people to help out with a shoot in the first place is difficult enough much less finding people with acting skills. You say you’ve got two friends who have some talent? You’re off to a good start! You seem to know what you want so I assume you don’t mind working on both sides of the camera yourself? If so that makes three. If your school has a drama department maybe you could try some recruitment. There you’ll find kids who are at least comfortable/brave enough to tryout for plays etc.